New legal guidelines on sexual assault, drug dealing, little one abuse go into impact in NC – WTVD-TV
This weekend marks major changes to the juvenile offender and sexual offenses justice system in North Carolina.
17-year-olds are automatically brought before an adult court for most non-violent or less serious crimes as the state's long-awaited "Raise the Age" initiative enters into force. Victims of child sexual abuse have more time as adults to claim civil damages against the perpetrators. And a court ruling that prevents women from legally revoking their consent is suspended.
These amendments are among the approximately 30 laws passed or amended this year that will be enforced from Sunday.
RAISE THE AGE
North Carolina was the last state in which 16- and 17-year-olds were automatically prosecuted as adults. The bipartisan laws passed in 2017 have expired to end this provision. Advocates say "Raise the Age" will reduce recidivism through offender services and give young people the opportunity to bypass lifelong criminal records in the privacy of adolescent cases.
While young people of this age are first charged Under juvenile jurisdiction, it will be compulsory for those facing the most serious crimes to be tried in an adult criminal court. Others accused of minor offenses could still be transferred there by judicial order. Car cases continue to be heard by an adult court.
Projections show that the relocation will involve thousands of other young people each year in the youth system. There has been a massive amount of training for law enforcement officers, and the General Assembly has spent some money to hire additional prosecutors, judges, court officials and other staff. Over time, more beds are needed in juvenile detention centers or development centers.
North Carolina's expulsion as the only state in which women can not revoke sexual consent – based on a 1979 decision – is now being abolished thanks to a new law.
SEE ALSO | Governor Cooper signs bill allowing women to revoke their consent during sexual intercourse
The bill also essentially overrules a 2008 court ruling stating that the law on sexual assault does not apply to individuals acting on their own behalf how drugs or drugs are incapable of alcohol. And the legislation makes it clear that it is illegal to provide someone with alcohol.
Advocates of victims of sexual assault and prevention had searched the changes for years, claiming that the consent restriction had created a gap that made prosecution more difficult.
] Another new law also makes it a crime for a doctor to have sexual contact with a patient on condition of treatment.
Changes in sexual assault were included in extended legislation The time-limited complaint of victims of sexual abuse of children to injury to persons aged 21 to 28 years.
Any adult can now sue for compensation for a child for two years after the criminal conviction of a person for sexual abuse under which the adult has suffered. And the law provides victims of sexual abuse of children older than 28 years with a one-time window in which to file their claims in 2020 and 2021. The changes stem from the increased exposure of revelations about sexual abuse in society.
Also the law The limitation period for certain offenses against child maltreatment will be extended from two to ten years, and new demands will be made on adults to inform the authorities about child maltreatment] A new high-ranking criminal offense has been imposed several years in prison and is directed against drug dealers who contribute to the death of a user due to overdose.
The law on death by distribution should severely punish the seller even if: a The public prosecutor can not prove that the person has deliberately violated the victim. Such malice is a key element of the murder.
SEE ALSO | New Law Enables NC Drug Dealers to Be Charged for Murder
Proponents of the new body of criminals say it's a tool to attack opioid suppliers in North Carolina.
ALSO IN BOOKS
Other laws that come into force on Sunday will:
Increase the criminal sanctions for persons who attack police officers and first responders with a weapon. Increase penalties for motorists who violate the state's "relocation" law and a first responder dies or is seriously injured. Make it an offense for motorists to bypass roadblocks built for flooded roads, such as during a hurricane.
Make it a crime to impersonate riders at a ride-center like Uber or Lyft and impose fines on those who attack legitimate riders.
Copyright © 2019 by The Associated Press. All rights reserved.